Finally folded

Last weekend's laundry languished
on the couch--a visual reminder
of the busy-
ness of the week

teaching, planning,
projects, daily
living, eating
cleaning, deciding,
maintaining

just being seems to take more
energy that it used to

we wonder, in concert,
is it age
is it an artifact of the pandemic
is it the "new normal"
?

Napping on the couch near the
finally-folded laundry
I inhale slowly
strength and rest
the coming week
brings fewer minutes and
its own unknowns

About dgSciGuy

High school science teacher--hoping to inspire wonder
This entry was posted in poetry, SOL2024 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Finally folded

  1. I wish I could figure out why laundry always feels so overwhelming. My lingering clothes are in baskets, piles, some folded stacks. Maybe tomorrow.

  2. I love how the laundry becomes the barometer for the busyness of the week. And I agree – post pandemic life takes a whole lot of energy. My laundry isn’t folded, either.

  3. GirlGriot says:

    I’m echoing Betsy’s comment. How is folding laundry such an impossible task? Today is the “tomorrow” I offered myself yesterday. Time to tackle that pile …

    • dgSciGuy says:

      My other “hard” task is emptying the dishwasher. I’m not sure why that’s such a big deal, either. My March 10 entry reminds us that we can be much more productive since DST has started (as if it worked that way, lol).

Leave a comment