Survival

Masses mindlessly moving 
(not quite) forward
choosing the next easy thing
choosing or just doing
swept toward a destination
(is it destiny when it's the result
of choices?)

Can I convince you to step up
step forward
make just one hard choice
or one right choice
to do the next right thing
or the next hard thing towards
a destination of your choosing?

to arrest the momentum of the
mundane

About dgSciGuy

High school science teacher--hoping to inspire wonder
This entry was posted in poetry, SOL2024 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Survival

  1. amyilene says:

    I will sit with this one for a bit…wondering about the speaker and the object of the questioning. I particularly love the final line and the words you chose. 

  2. Heidi Allum says:

    As I read this, my first wondering was who were you directing it to. There is something so open about it that it could be to “all” (a mantra into the universe), but then something very personal about it (you had someone/group of persons specific in mind). And I thought…maybe students? Because I have felt this way, too. Then I saw your response to a comment.

    Either way, there is a direction here; almost hands trying to focus a compass. I really like how there is a lot between the lines.

  3. vivian chen says:

    After reading the comments I now know you had students in mind, but I see these words fitting a variety of groups. Even myself at times.

  4. You have a complex exploration of phrases which metaphorically represent ways of living or being in the world. The last line struck me: “to arrest the momentum of the mundane” – nearing alliteration, but an action against another action. Beautiful.

Leave a comment