It’s Monday, what are you reading (IMWAYR), January 6, 2014

Usually when someone asks me what I’m reading, I am ready with a quick answer.  Today, I’m between books and dabbling in several books that haven’t fully captured my attention.

Yesterday, I finished The Island Teri Hall.  This is the final installment to the trilogy that began a few years ago with The Line.  We eagerly grabbed onto The Line when it came out, using it in the classroom to discuss freedom, protection, and the Bill of Rights. Having read the first two installments in this trilogy, I was anxious to read this one when I heard that it had finally been released.  I don’t want to give too much away for those who haven’t yet read the first two books.  Suffice it to say, there are many unexpected twists and turns in the plot.  I can see how it could easily be used to discuss the Holocaust, turning your head in the presence of evil, or sacrifices made for the greater good.  Teri has crafted a dystopian trilogy that cause her readers to evaluate themselves and consider their own ethics as they follow the trials of the much-beloved main characters.

Today, I’m forcing myself not to pick up another fiction book; I’m going to work on my resolution to read more professional books this year.  I have a stack; I just have to dive in.  I have Seven Strategies of Assessment for Learning and Mindsets in the Classroom  that I hope to finish this month.

Erased by Jennifer Rush releases tomorrow.  I’ve been waiting on that one, so it might slow my professional reading just a bit.  It will be a worthwhile diversion, though.

It’s Monday, what are you reading?

About tkslibrarian

Middle school science teacher--hoping to inspire wonder
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

