The Power of Relationship

I was recently reminded of the importance of relationships in promoting literacy.  A student stopped in the library to say, “Mr. Grossman, do you have a new book for me?  The last two books you recommended were great, so I want to read whatever you recommend.”  This type of trust doesn’t come quickly, but it is one of the goals that I should have for all my students.  The thing that I have to remember is that many of the students who most need these trust relationships are not likely to meet me at the circulation desk.  They are the students wondering around in the back corner of the library avoiding the teacher and the eyes of the circulation desk.  These are the students that I’m going to have to meet where they are (**note to self, this requires my getting out from behind the circulation desk). Once I meet them and find out who they really are, then I have enough of their respect to be “allowed” to suggest titles to them.  For tomorrow, my goal–meet one more student where he/she. . .

About tkslibrarian

Middle school science teacher--hoping to inspire wonder
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

